Rocko’s Modern Life: Nickelodeon’s funny classic cartoon

I think this will be a short post because there’s not much I can say.

This is not any animated television show, this is a REAL CARTOON! I was a young little girl so I hated it for being a CARTOON. Why did they have to exaggerate everthing? How come everything was going wrong for Rocko? Can’t there be an episode where it wasn’t so tragic and irritating for him, because it irritated me. Well after not watching it for a year, I really missed the show and realized that it was really funny. When it came back on I quickly grabbed a video cassette and pressed record on my video player.

 Rocko was an immigrant wallaby from Australia (in case you don’t know where wallabies come from) and was trying to live his new modern life in America. His best friend Heffer was a very famished steer and his other friend was an anxious turtle, Filburt. Rocko had a pet dog, Spunky. I don’t understand how a wallaby can have a pet dog; but then again, it is a cartoon. This cartoon was filled with hundreds of wacky characters. The worst of them all were Rocko’s frog neighbours; Mr. and Mrs. Bighead. They were the freakiest and most annoying cartoon characters I have ever met, not to mention the ugliest.

 I have two favourite episodes I remember very clearly. The first one is based on Mr. and Mrs. Bighead’s son who was a director/producer/writer. He created his own shows. The thing was, he really hated his job and tried to make his tv shows as bad as he could so that they would fire him. He even made a whole episode of a pickle jar just sitting in the corner (or some other jar of something) and he gained even more views! That was hilarious. So the son thought of a great idea of making Rocko, Heffer, and Filburt create an episode for him, they are bound to think of something really bad. In the end Rocko convinced the son that he should be trying to make his shows the best and put a lot of effort into them. The son was persuaded and put a lot of effort into his next show, but the audience hated it and he was fired. How ironic huh?

The other one was when Heffer, Filburt, and Rocko had to take care of Filburt’s unhatched egg. This show was full of laughs.

I taped over the episodes I recorded. I wish I didn’t but I was running out of tapes. You can watch some episodes on youtube though. Hooray.

On the IMDB forum, someone said that Rocko’s Modern Life might be released on DVD this year in 2008. Another hooray!

See. . . told you it’s a short post– for a tv show I mean.

Credit to xXwhitexshadowXx for the video.

One thought on “Rocko’s Modern Life: Nickelodeon’s funny classic cartoon

Leave a Reply

