My friend is weird because she lives in a funeral home – My Girl

I thought the first movie I would write about would be a teenage flick like She’s All That. I changed my mind to My Girl.

postermygirl.jpg

Aww, it’s Macaulay Culkin, and he’s so cute in this movie, especially with the glasses.

I dreaded writing about the Spice Girl because they were past the mid nineties, but I chose to get them over with so I can focus on better music artist.

Mr Girl was released in 1991 in USA but released 1992 in the rest of the world. The plot summary is . . . it is um . . . I find it hard to summarize. I could never tell a friend what this movie was about. It was about a little girl who was a tomboy and was an outcast. Her mother was dead, her father was an undertaker, the only friend she had was Thomas. J. She was going through— I’m just going to give up. There is no way I can give you the basic plot in just a few words, so I’m going to have to do it the long way: right from the start.

Vada Sultenfuss (Anna Chlumsky) was only eleven years old and lived in a large house where her father (Dan Aykroyd) held funerals and held the deceased down in the basement. Why would a father allow this to happen? Didn’t he understand that Vada could be frightened by dead people? Guess he was too depressed with his wife’s death to think it through. She was only eleven! In a way, Vada was afraid, but she thought if she became one of them, she wouldn’t be so afraid. Vada was a regular patient at the doctors thinking she was going to die very soon and claimed there was something wrong with her.

Thomas J. Sennett (Culkin) was a nice, short, and scrawny little boy who was allergic to pretty much everything. He was allergic to chocolate! Vada and Thomas were best friends and they mostly hung around their favourite tree beside the lake. They lived in a really small town so everyone pretty much knew everyone else. They popped by their English Teacher house (I would never have visited a teacher if I was still in elementary school) during their summer break. Vada had a huge crush on him. When I mean huge I mean she sang love songs to his picture in the school photo. When she found out Mr. Bixler was going to teach an adults English class she had to be in his class just to see him.

Meanwhile Shelley Devoto arrived for a job interview to become a make-up artist. She was shocked to find out that she going to put make-up on dead people. Shelley (Jamie Lee Curtis) and Harry, the father fell in love with each other. Vada was upset by this, no one replaces my mom she thought. She made sure Shelley knew that Vada didn’t accept her as apart of this family. She was even more furious when she found out they were engaged. Thomas J. was always by her side whenever she needed him, even when he didn’t agree with everything she did or said. The thing was, Vada needed a female to look up to and to teach her about growing up into a woman.

Rent this movie just to see Macaulay’s and Anne Clumsky’s first on screen kiss.

I am not embarassed to say that this movie made me cry the first time I saw it. I rented this movie a long time ago because of my friend suggested it. I watched this movie for the second time and I cried, again, even when I knew what was coming.

This is not scary. It is not miserable or dramatic, it is realistic and escapes to somewhere you’ve been before: your childhood. The sixties and seventies music gives it a touch of innocence. It is the type of music children should be listening to, not what they’re listening to nowadays. There’s nothing negative I can say. It’s a heartwarming movie and I will cherish it forever.

8.5/10

One thought on “My friend is weird because she lives in a funeral home – My Girl

  1. It could happen in real life. Freddie Prinze had died and the character Chico Rodriguez had died. That is what the person Jack Alberson was explaining to the young boy about Chio’s passing.

Leave a Reply

