What are Pogs? It’s TAZOS!

What kind of name is Pogs? Tazos sound cooler. I’m sticking to Tazos because thats what I grew up with. According to Wikipedia, they orginated in Hawaii sometime in 1920s or 1930s. They became popular in the 90s. Mainly in 1995 and 1996. They came in chip packets. I still have them now. Check them out.

Look, I have the one where Luke and Princess Leia swing on the rope. That was a weird scene. Anyway, I didn’t know what Star Wars was when I got them. So glad I have them now because I love Star Wars. I’m not an obsessed Star Wars nerd so uh . . . are there female jedi knights? I love the Looney Tunes! In the 90s Looney Tunes were a huge hit and so was . . .

Space Jam!

In the Looney Tunes picture there are two tazos with Cheetos Cheatah on it . . . why the hell did they let him have his own Tazos? Some of them have small line cuts on the edge. You connect them together to make something. I never tried. This is the best thing I could think of:

I’m no carpenter.

The Simpsons!

I have a tone more Looney Tunes one. Gosh! Think of how many chip packets I had to eat! Nah. I think I only had a pile of about five centimetres. My cousins were junk food lovers and had a ton of them. When they stopped coming in chip packets, they gave them to my sister and me which is why I have so many. Those are mine. Not my sisters.

Here’s how you play. This is a two or more people game.

  1. Pile the regular tazos up with the Tazos sign facing up.
  2. Grab your slammer.
  3. Use the slammer and smash it on the corner of the pile of Tazos. You don’t have to hit the corner but it’s the best strategy.
  4. Some of the tazos will flip, as in you can see the pictures.
  5. Take the ones that have flipped.
  6. Take turns. Only collect the ones you have flipped with your own Slammer.
  7. Keep filling up that pile.
  8. When there are no more tazos, count the total of points you have one. On the Tazos sign side, there are points. Some say two points, some say three points.
  9. Whoever has the most points win.
  10. You can play for keeps instead of points, as in you keep the ones that you flipped over.

 I never played for keeps. I’m a collector. Not a gambler.

 Did you collect Tazos? Or . . . Pogs . . . or were you a gambler? Do you still have them?

 Oh, instead of a coin to decide on heads and tails, use a Tazo! Or a Pog!

4 thoughts on “What are Pogs? It’s TAZOS!

  1. Well I was pretty into pogs as a kid, and I can honestly say I have never in my life heard them called Tazos. In fact, I don’t ever even think I’ve seen that word until now. Maybe it has something to do with me being from Minnesota.

    But hey if anyone is interested in my personal pog story:

    http://www.voont.com/pogs

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

