Beep* Beep* I’m Hungry!

The year is 1997 and Tamagotchis are the new craze! It was created and released in 1996 but I don’t know when it was released in our country.

tamagotchi1

The Game: You must feed it when it’s hungry. It’s a good idea to play a game with your Tamagotchi pet. There is only one game you can play with it and I still don’t get the purpose. The Tamagotchi waits for you to pick left or right. You press one and sometimes you are right and sometimes you are wrong. Sometimes your Tamagotchi can become ill from lack of care or something. You will need to give it an injection. There is a status section that is the most helpful to check how happy, healthy, and hungry your Tamagotchi is. Whenever it needs you, your Tamagotchi will beep to let you know. Do not neglect it or something bad will happen. You set the time before you begin so your Tamagotchi sleeps when you do.

I really,really, really wanted a Tamagotchi. I never had a real pet when I was in elementary so the thought of an electronic pet is brilliant! Like any other kid that wants a toy, I kept nagging my mom. Everywhere we went I saw one and I didn’t give up.

Then we went overseas and there were so many of those rip-off Tamagotchis. There were toy stands everywhere! I didn’t know the difference between a real one and a rip-off one so I didn’t care.

tamagotchirip

We arrived at our relatives place and my cousin gave me her small Tamagotchi because she was going to buy the bigger version. My dreams came true! I was the happiest girl in the world.

After two weeks, the Tamagotchi was a pain! They drive you absolutely crazy! Beeep Beep! Beep Beep! Doesn’t matter where you are or what you’re doing, that thing will beep until you do something about it. I can’t recall how many times it has woken me up early in the morning for food or something else. I was getting ready for the group photoshoot for a wedding and I actually stopped the process to feed my Tamagotchi. I actually have a picture of that but I’m not putting that up!

My mother was yelling at me of course for making everybody wait. Didn’t they understand that my Tamagotchi was hungry and it was more important than anything in the world? Nope. I don’t understand either. The worse thing was that it beeped more often than the first week I played with it. I didn’t know understand why.

tamagotchi2

[Look at how colourful they are. They sure knew how to attrack the kids.]

Finally we came home and I wanted my Tamagotchi to die already! It wouldn’t die! Oh yeah, I found out that it kept beeping because it was fat so it wanted to eat more often than usual. I thought I had to wait until the batteries died for this game to finish. Eventually I found out how to stop it and I did. I felt so guilty.

Tamagotchis are horrible. Don’t buy them.

5 thoughts on “Beep* Beep* I’m Hungry!

  1. HAHA That’s hilarious!! I remember being in school and every single kid in my class had a Tamagotchi… I was obsessed with mine, then I lost it… and realized it was a pain in the butt anyway haha check out this site i found that has all these photo galleries of bands music and tv shows all from the 90s…it really brought me back! I completely forgot about some of the music and movies that came out then, and it wasn’t even that long ago! Check out the site here: http://www.iheartmusic.com/cc-common/seasonal/90s/?cmp=nineties

    Hope you have as much fun going back to the nineties as I did 🙂

  2. I was desperate for a Tamagotchi too! I remember the rip-off ones as being farrrrr cheaper then the real ones, and ended up with one of them. I was so happy when I finally got in nearly fully grown, and then I lost it. Devastating.

    I’m in Australia and saw an ad for them on TV the other night!

  3. Pingback: I will right wrong and triumph over evil! « 90s Blog – That Is So Phat

  4. Pingback: Happy 3rd Anniversary! « 90s Blog – That Is So Phat

Leave a Reply

