Make sure Santa Clause doesn’t fall off the roof!

It’s time for the Christmas post of the year. Last year I chose to recap Christmas holiday specials of 90s Tv Shows. Today, I decided to talk about the movie ‘The Santa Clause’ staring Tim Allen. Yes, you should know that movie by now. I’ve been putting this post off for a few weeks, but now it’s time to put my mind back into my childhood and discuss what it is that Kids love about this film.

Charlie must stay with his dad for Christmas. Scott Calvin and Laura Calvin Miller are seperated. The first thing they do is argue about when is the right time to tell Charlie that Santa Claus isn’t real. Neil, Laura’s current husband told him that there’s no such thing as Santa. It seems that Charlie likes Neil way more than his own dad.

Scott (Tim Allen) really wants Charlie to believe that there is a Santa Claus. “What about people that don’t have fireplaces, how does he get into their house?” I wondered about this question myself.

In the middle of the night, Charlie hears noises on the rooftops. When they check it out Scott finds a man dressed in a Santa Claus costume trying to get into the chimney. At the sight of Scott, the ‘burglar’ falls of the roof. They hear jingles on the roof and find a line of reindeers!

Holy cow! That WAS Santa and his reindeers. I was astounded. Scott puts on the Santa suit and helps Santa deliver the presents. When he approaches a house without a fireplace, he gets sucked down a pipe and a fireplace magically appears. Answer solved!

The reindeers take Scott and Charlie to their new home; The North Pole. The elves and Santa live in a big beautiful mansion. Nothing like what I expected. I thought the workshop would be more taditional; like the one in The Nightmare Before Christmas.

They both wake up in Calvin’s house. Laura and Neil pick up Charlie and are worried that Charlie actually believes that a dream where his Father is Santa, actually happened. The scene where Neil tries to get Charlie to find Santa nonesence is gold.

Neil: Have you ever seen a reindeer fly?
Charlie: Yes.
Neil: Well I haven’t.

Scott begins to put on weight and grow white facial hair at an immense rate. Laura and Neil do the most horrible thing. They take Charlie away from Scott and suspend his visitation rights. Scott takes Charlie along with him to deliver the presents and the police are out to get him.

Scott finally returns Charlie home. When Laura comes to realize that he is Santa, I just wanted to cry, Neil’s reaction is just hysterical.

Santa?

I knew there was no Santa when I used to watch this every year as a child, but this movie made me wish there was a Santa. My parents laughed at me that I actually believed in Santa Clause at age 5. I was crushed. Thanks Mom and Dad!

I’m an adult now, but this movie still impacts me. It gives me the Christmas spirit. It is the only movie that has ever given me this type of spirit as a child. Checking the IMDB rating, I don’t think this movie is for the critics. They have no idea how this movie affects children. As Charlie said, “It’s okay Neil. You were just denying your inner child.”

Merry Christmas, Everyone!

P. S. May I just say the soundtack/score of this film is perfect!

One thought on “Make sure Santa Clause doesn’t fall off the roof!

Leave a Reply

