The Lion King vs Bambi

I had a dream. A dream where I was a little girl again and my father was taking me to watch the Lion King. The cinemas’s entrance was amazing. We walked down the outdoor hallway entrance that extended to 200 metres. It had 10 metre high concrete walls that were from the mall’s building I guess. The walls had a bunch of movie posters, with all three lion king posters. It was so cool… I woke up and realized the last time I watched the Lion King was when I was 5. At school. I didn’t remember a thing about it.

I downloaded the movie, watched it and thought, “well this was anti-climatic. It’s okay.” I never watched it again.

I DID go to see the Lion King in 3D a week ago. I didn’t give a crap about the 3D to be honest. It didn’t make a difference. I really wanted to go because I never got the chance to see the movie in theatre as a little girl, like I should have.

It was amazing. I could not believe this is the same movie that I watched on the computer. I however, could believe this was the same film that I watched at school because I was equally terrified of the stampede at the time. The surround sound and the music got to me because I got teary throughout it. The nostalgia factor of feeling like a 5 year old again didn’t help either. I don’t cry in real life. I just cry at movies with amazing scores. The only bad thing I can say about the new release is the modernized Disney logo. Leave the original alone, please!

I just watched Bambi and realized how similar these two films are. The difference is that Bambi is a classic Disney film which means Walt Disney himself was part of the creative process.

  1. Both films start off with the new born (Fawn for Bambi. Cub for Simba)
  2. All the animals gather for the prince.
  3. One of their parents die. (Mother for Bambi. Father for Simba)
  4. They both grow up and fall in love with the female friend. Both show a montage of this too.
  5. Bambi fights a pack of fierce dogs near the end of the film. Simba fights off a cackle of wild hyenas near the end of the film.
  6. A fire starts and burns majority of the forest. Simba’s jungle becomes deserted and gloomy.
  7. Both film ends with the newborn of the newborn, as if the story would start all over again.

So which film do you prefer? The Lion King or Bambi. Don’t just vote The Lion King because you just saw it and think it’s all kinds of wonderful and haven’t seen Bambi in a long time.

I only choose The Lion King because even though both films have amazing songs, The Lion King’s songs say 90s to me. It was part of my generation. I have a personal connection towards it, which I can’t say the same for Bambi.

Leave a Reply

