Backpack Purses

You know those small backups that all the teenagers and even children used to carry around?

You know . . . they come in mostly black, sometimes leather, sometimes a big smiley face? You could see bubble shaped ones? There were ones so small you could only fit a sandwich in there.

Yeah those. They are called backpack purses. They have never really disappeared. You just don’t see them as a fashion staple anymore.

I was ten years old and everyone in my class brought along their tiny little backpacks to school excursions. I believe American schools call it field trips, and some of these road trips take a few days. We call those camps. When it’s a day trip we call it excursions.

So everyone owned one except me and a few uncool kids (we were the unspoilt ones). I literally whined to my mother until she bought me one and it was the greatest thing I could have ever have gotten that year. I never got any dolls or new toys I wanted, but when my mother saw me wanting a bag, and bags are useful, she made sure I had the best one.

That was of course, a long, long time ago.

Guess what, everybody? I’m bringing them back! I have a black backpack purse, my pale blue jean, plaid shirt, and doc martens! Wooo!

I’m a 90s walking disaster and I don’t care! I love it.

Alright. Honestly, The backpack purse, depending on the style, still looks dorky. Well I have accepted doc martens. Perhaps one day, I will carry around the backpack purse with pride.

Let me know if you have accepted any 90s fashion item into your daily wardrobe in the comments below.

10 thoughts on “Backpack Purses

  1. HELLO FELLOW 90er!!! i have a bluejean backpack purse, and used it right up til a few months ago, when the lining in the back part with the zipper ripped and anything i put in there got lost inside.

  2. Am a grandmother and LOVE backpack purses. Leaves me handfree when we are “playing” or at theme parks etc. Problem is…they are hard to find when I need to replace. Don’t want a full size backpack – just a purse that has comfortable straps. Where can those be found? I bought one at Target but can’t find them locally anymore.

  3. I love this. When I was a kid, I had a collection of backpack purses. They all had flowers on them and were most likely purchased via the sale rack at Limited Too. Now, some 20 years later, I have a backpack purse again. This time it’s a simple black one.

  4. I clearly am one of those 90s losers… because I want to to know exactly where I can buy the exact leather backpack purse you used as a sample photo on this post…. Thank you!!!

    Sarah

  5. I love backpack purses. (I’ve never cheated on a backpack purse with a handbag.) Love your blog. Backpack purses forever!

Leave a Reply

